top of page


Childcare isn't all napping! There's so much for your little treasures to learn about the world around them, and here at Deb's Diamonds we follow a fun and immersive curriculum to ensure learning is fun!

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


From birth to 5 years old any setting your child attends will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to support your child’s natural development and enhance their learning.

The EYFS has four key themes:

- A Unique Child – Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

- Positive Relationships – Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

- Enabling Environments – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

- Learning And Development – Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and interconnected.


Early learning is the key to your child’s future and families make the greatest difference at this stage.


Areas of Learning:

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning: Children should mostly develop the 3 Prime Areas first. These are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Communication and Language 

  • Physical Development

These Prime Areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the Prime Areas will help them to develop skills in 4 Specific Areas. These are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding of the world

  • Expressive Arts and Design 

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. We make sure the activities are suited to your child’s needs and use their observations to follow the children’s interests to help them develop in these areas.

bottom of page